Question:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Super-Skinny-Navy-Blue-Suit-sz-34-dior-homme-tie_W0QQitemZ110206481204QQihZ001QQcategoryZ3001QQ ssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Being Asian, lean, and of a light build, finding a suit is impossible especially given my location. At a glance the suit looks well fitted, and suits my needed asthetic.
Now he advertises that he is also selling a Dior Homme tie but the label on it clearly says Christian Dior, and I know the difference between that. I don't really care much about that tie but that shows some dishonesty on the sellers part.
Now my question is, is it worth biting the bullet and paying something like ~$130 for the suit? Now I don't need any high quality construction and fit is my main concern, so unless it literally falls apart after several wears then I am not worried. I'm just unsure about this and I have never used Ebay before.
Also, he is using a method of payment called BidPay, is this a reliable method?
Answer:
Looks like he sold a similar suit in black and the person was pleased. I don't know why some pics are grey. Maybe he also has a grey suit that he was planning on selling. Why don't you ask him some questions about the items if you're curious. Bidpay is an ebay payment option. He also takes paypal if you look at the rest of the listing. A lot of people put "+dior tie" in order to get dior customers into looking at their item while bypassing the ebay keyword violation. It's not a big deal, sellers here and sufu use extra keywords sometimes too. Ask him questions, not us.
Answer:
All I can say is from the pics it doesn't look like egregiously bad quality, but then when you get it who knows what the fabric is going to be like. Then again, $130 for a suit is almost nothing (Target range) so if nothing else, you can wear it to dark clubs and let it get spilled/barfed on.
Answer:
About the gray suit he mentioned it in his description.
Are there any particular questions I should ask him?
I just want to make sure I ask the right things before I jump him and start pestering him with questions.
Also I have never used PayPal or any sort of online payment other than directly using my debit card.
Answer:
go to
www.paypal.com and sign up then. It's pretty much how people online do business. It'll be difficult to shop ebay or the buy&sell forum/supermarket without it. It doesn't cost anything. Bidpay allows you to use debit card i believe. I never use anything but paypal for ebay though.
If i was a waist size 30, i'd consider that suit if his story checked out. Maybe ask about the tailoring designer or shop he works for casually and then google the name yourself. One of the big signs of ebay fakers is that they have a bunch of the same or similar items for sale. It seems that he sells these suits pretty sparingly and that the people have been ok with them.
He seems like he would be helpful if you ask him questions about the material and measurements. I mean, it's your call but it seems legit to me for a $120 suit.
Answer:
Just a thought, but just bc you, and most other people here on SF know the difference between Christian Dior and Dior Homme, that doesn't necessarily mean that the seller does.
Answer:
Who cares. I keyword spammed when i sold my levis 511 a few months ago "Levis 511 size 32 APC Nudie Skinny Jeans" or something like that. Ebay didn't catch me. People generally search for brand names and since hi suit doesn't have a brand name hardly anyone would ever find it.
Answer:
I can guarantee the seller knows the difference and about 95% guarantee he reads here or is a member.
Some of them who do that might not, but read the guy's description. He knows his stuff. Not that I care, I agree it's the only way to sell it and it does describe the suit's style.
Answer:
He kinda looks like BrianSD but can't be if he's in NYC.
but, to answer your title question....I suspect he is too legit to quit
Answer:
Looks like a good item for the price. Give it a shot. It fits the model pretty well.
Answer:
BidPay is a Western Union online payment system. It basically sends a physical Western Union money order to the seller via snail mail. I've used it a couple of times, but now I prefer PayPal.
BidPay is shutting down it's operations as of Dec 31, 2007. See
https://www.bidpay.com/SendPaymentAuctionInfo.aspx
Answer:
Man I feel so duped.
I just got an e-mail saying that he was the seller and that he was interested in negotiating a reasonable price with me.
A couple hours later I get another e-mail that says pretty much the same thing, though worded different.
I ask the buyer directly and niether of the e-mails are his.
:confused:
Answer:
???
You clicked "ask seller a question" and he said he's not selling the suit but buying it? I'm confused
Answer:
Oops what I meant was yeah I asked the seller a question and then all of a sudden I check my e-mail and there's a new message that says he is the seller and would like to negotiate a price. Hours later I get pretty much the exact same e-mail from a completely different address and when I asked the seller again directly through eBay he said that neither of those two e-mail accounts are his.
Answer:
Yea, that's called spam. I've been getting ebay spam lately too. Only check your ebay messages through your ebay account unless you want bad shit to happen.
